The 2024 One-Day Cup: Everything You Need to Know

The One-Day Cup is a biennial limited-overs cricket tournament organized by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). The tournament is an integral part of the domestic cricket structure in England, featuring county cricket teams competing in 50-over matches. The One-Day Cup serves as a platform for players to showcase their skills in the one-day format.  It is particularly crucial for young players aiming to break into international cricket. 

This year’s tournament will begin on July 24th and continue until September 22nd, 2024. And as always, England and Wales’s 18 first-class county cricket clubs will be vying for the title. 

This article aims to provide you with all the information about the competition, including its history, format and structure, participating teams, and schedule.

Brief History of The Tournament

The origin of this tournament can be traced back to the early 1960s when limited-overs cricket was first introduced in English domestic cricket. The first cricket competition to flag off this new limited-overs version was the Gillette Cup, played specifically in 1963.

At the time, the matches were played 60 overs per side, a significant reduction from the traditional unlimited overs format used in first-class cricket. The idea behind the innovation at the time was to inject more excitement into English domestic cricket and attract more spectators by shortening the duration of matches, and it worked perfectly. Many spectators who couldn’t commit to the long durations and multi-day formats of first-class and Test cricket now have a more condensed and spectator-friendly version of the game.

The Gillette Cup was so successful that it helped the cricket world understand the viability and popularity of limited-overs cricket. This innovation influenced domestic and international cricket, paving the way for more one-day competitions, notably the One Day International (ODI) and T20.

Evolution of the Tournament

In the years that followed, the Gillette Cup would undergo a series of evolutions that led to the creation of the London Royal London One-Day Cup in 2014. Here’s how it has evolved over the years:

  • 1972: The Benson and Hedges Cup was created, featuring 55-over matches.
  • 1981: The Gillette Cup was renamed the NatWest Trophy.
  • 1998: The CGU National League began, featuring 40-over matches and knockout tournaments. It was later renamed the NatWest Pro40.
  • 2006: The knockout cup from the CGU National League became the Cheltenham and Gloucester Trophy, then the Friends Provident Trophy, switching to 50-over matches to match international standards.
  • 2009: The Friends Provident Trophy was discontinued.
  • 2010: The Friends Provident Trophy was replaced by the ECB 40, later known as the Clydesdale Bank 40, a 40-over league that lasted until 2013.
  • 2014: The ECB introduced the Royal London One-Day Cup, returning to the 50-over format.

Since 2014, the One-Day Cup has been played biennially, except in 2020, when it was suspended due to the COVID-19 outbreak. This year’s tournament will be the tenth edition of the competition, and it promises to be an exciting cricket spectacle. 

Although it’s not a major international cricket tournament, it still carries some degree of popularity and significance. In fact, it garners considerable wagering action as some sportsbooks cover it alongside other cricket events. You can read more here about betting on the One-Day Cup or any other sports event of your choice.

2024 One-Day Cup: Participating Teams

As mentioned, the 2024 One-Day Cup will be played by England and Wales’s 18 first-class county cricket clubs. County cricket teams are professional cricket teams representing the historic counties of England and Wales. These teams compete in various domestic cricket competitions organized by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), including the County Championship (first-class cricket), the T20 Blast (Twenty20 cricket), and the Royal London One-Day Cup (limited-overs cricket). They include:

  • Derbyshire
  • Durham
  • Essex
  • Glamorgan
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire
  • Kent
  • Lancashire
  • Leicestershire
  • Middlesex
  • Northamptonshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Somerset
  • Surrey
  • Sussex
  • Warwickshire
  • Worcestershire
  • Yorkshire

Tournament Format

The 18 participating teams will compete in a total of 77 matches, which includes a group stage and a knockout round. The teams will be divided into two groups, playing each other in a single round-robin format. The teams are grouped as follows:

Group A: 

  • Lancashire.
  • Worcestershire.
  • Kent.
  • Middlesex.
  • Durham.
  • Hampshire.
  • Northamptonshire.
  • Somerset.
  • Derbyshire.

Group B: 

  • Essex.
  • Leicestershire.
  • Warwickshire.
  • Surrey.
  • Glamorgan.
  • Nottinghamshire.
  • Yorkshire.
  • Gloucestershire.
  • Sussex.

The top three teams from each group will advance to the tournament’s knockout stages. The first-place teams from each group will progress directly to the semi-finals. Meanwhile, each group’s second and third-place teams will compete in the quarter-finals.

In the quarter-finals, the second-placed team from Group A will play against the third-placed team from Group B, and the second-placed team from Group B will face the third-placed team from Group A. The winners of these matches will advance to the semi-finals, joining the first-place teams from each group.

Venue and Schedule

The tournament is scheduled to kick off on July 24th, with the two group-stage matches happening simultaneously. Northamptonshire will take on Derbyshire at the county cricket ground in Northampton. Warwickshire will take on the county cricket ground in Chelmsford. The group stage is scheduled to run till August 14th.

The quarter-final matches involving the third and second-placed teams of either group will also take place simultaneously on the 16th of August. Same with the semi-finals on the 18th of August. The venue for these matches has not yet been confirmed. The final has, however, been scheduled to take place at the Trent Bridge Cricket Ground in Northampton on the 22nd of September.


The 2024 One-Day Cup is almost here again, and it promises to be another exciting cricket spectacle. This tournament is one of the highlights of the English cricket calendar, and its significance cannot be understated. This year again, it will showcase performances from the best talents in top county teams vying to get the attention of international cricket.